This recipe is actually a non-vegan smoothie which I adapted after having vegan friends around whom I didn’t know yet were vegans!

bbs

Vegan Blackberry Smoothie

  • A cup full of Berries (Preferably from last year’s food foraging?),
  • A cup full of Fresh Apple Juice,
  • 1x Ripe Banana,
  • Not necessary but, honey to add in if you or your expected guest/s have a sweet tooth (usually about 1tsp to 1 tbsp depending how keen you are on your dentist!),
  • For Non-Vegan, add half to one cup natural yogurt,
  • Optional: Pre-soaked Nettle seeds and/or chia seed, you could even throw in some home made Elderflower Cordial!

Place all ingredients in a blender, blend until smooth and serve – honestly, honey is not necessary as the apple juice and banana are more than enough for sweetener.

If you find yourself saying that this is not sweet enough, then you should look at gradually reducing your sugar intake. The way I reduced my sugar was to have half a teaspoon less in my tea / coffee and every few months reducing a bit more, I am now down to no sugar at all in tea and only one teaspoon in a coffee. I can now have a little as a teaspoon of honey in my morning porridge – compared to the early / mid nineties where I would have 2-3 Tablespoons in a cereal.

Comments
  1. Sharing in my FB page @homeorganicph. It’s mulberry season in the Philippines now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeffpermie says:

      Salamat Po! 🙂

      You guys have a different type of mulberry right? I did look into it in the past and they look quite different, I will need to try research whether they are named that due to being in the same family or just a similar berry?

      I was in a private gaden on Friday and saw the biggest mulberry tree I have ever seen o even knew exised! the trunk was at least 60cm wide in some places and it has collapsed due to old age, the tree now lays sideways and has naturally rooted in the areas where the trunk touches the ground, this has resulted in a tree whose canopy now covers at least 20 – 25 meters wide and 10m high!! It was quite spectacular

      Liked by 1 person

  2. […] Mushroom Soup and Berry / Fruit Smoothies […]

    Like

Leave a comment