My ….. it dawned upon me today that we are already one month down in 2015!! Then I remembered – and asked myself: ”Isn’t there something you are (were) supposed to sow in January ? ?” …. Ah yes! My first ever sowings were in January 2012 and it was Red Cabbage. So surely I can sow other vegetables too? (I only recommend Red Cabbage if you have the space and patience to wait that long to harvest!!), my mind went blank so I had to consult the Internet! Haha

Sowing the upcoming Season's Seeds

Sowing the upcoming Season’s Seeds

I decided to skip my usual site I use as a ‘sowing calendar’ just to see what others are saying, I came across someone saying it’s good to sow Tomatoes in November to December / January! So skipped her and read a couple more. I decided to go back to my main trustworthy site and this is what I have started this evening:

  1. Aubergines – also known as: Egg Plant or Brinjal
  2. Sweet Peppers
  3. Tomatoes
  4. That was it for today but I remembered that I have a couple of beneficial plants that I wanted to get started early, these are: Poached Egg Plant (Limnanthes Douglasii) and Wild Teasel (Dipsacus fullonum), read up on the multiple benefits of Wild Teasel Here, with Poached Egg Plant, it is said to be one of the earliest flowering plants in the UK and obviously serves as a kickstarter for the pollinators, you can also germinate more towards the end of summer to have ongoing flowers into Autumn. For the Teasel, I scattered many seeds in a tray, these were harvested at the beginning of Autumn from the wild so I am not sure about the viability however,if many plants sprout I do intend on going into my local area and plant some of them in the ”Guerrilla Gardening” way. With the Poached Egg Plant, I sowed about 1 seeds and extra plants may be a gift to the neighbours and the local bees! 😉

Other vegetables possible to sow now are some varieties of Brussels Sprouts, Winter Salads, Oriental Greens and Round Seeded Peas (Ones that do not appear wrinkled when dry)

Happy Sowing! …

Leave a Reply

