I took these photo’s sometime either this year or possibly in the Summer of 2013, I’m not entirely sure as I make an effort to visit both Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens at least twice a year (Summer and Autumn).
I was highly appreciative of the chosen Plant varieties I found in some locations, although I am not too sure if they are deliberately chosen for Wildlife or merely ornamental reasons, but I can commend the Royal Parks for what I came across.

Ceanothus (Common Name: California Lilac) makes a great shrub for pollinators

Ceanothus (Common Name: California Lilac) makes a great shrub for pollinators

I found large Ceanothus Shrubs (photo above), these shrubs are always covered in various bee species wherever I see them during the growing season, These shrubs in Hyde Park are most certainly the largest I have ever seen them growing! I sincerely hope they remain like that and not chopped back at some point …
Ceanothus appear on the list of recommended shrubs / plants for beneficial insects and pollinators for the local UK wildlife species.

perovskia and lavendar (2)

Perovskia ‘Blue Spire’ closeup

perovskia and lavendar (1)

Lavender and Perovskia Mixed Bed

A good 30 meters away there is a very well designed bed which hosts Perovskia ‘Blue Spire’ and Common Lavender (Both of which are very beneficial to pollinators) and of course they were covered in various bee species. This same bed also contained about 3-5 rose varieties, Magnolia Shrubs, Grasses, Purple Leaf Sage, Lady’s Mantle (Alchemilla Mollis) and Various Bulbs … plus the smell was astounding!!!

Further away I found a nice Buddleja Davidii (also known as: Butterfly Bush) unfortunately I forgot to take pictures of that one! Fortunately, you can see many of them on the track sides when traveling London using the train system …

The people at Friends Of The Earth have information on the best varieties you can grow in your garden/s in the UK for our local species, check the site Here.

Comments
  1. […] Wildlife Friendly Shrubs / Park Walkabout. […]

    Like

  2. […] easily have up to or beyond 300 flower stems at one time, I have seen them mixed into beds with Perovskia and Lavender which seemed to work well especially for […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

